Board Members

GPEx Board-dr-kevin-forsyth

Prof Kevin Forsyth


Kevin is the Dean of People and Resources at the College of Medicine and Public Health at Flinders University and a Professor of Paediatrics and Child Health.

He is a paediatric immunologist and convenor of the organisation GapHeal, Global Alliance for Paediatric Health Education and Leadership, which works to improving support for child health workers in leadership, clinical competence and training expertise globally.

Kevin is the Presiding Chair of the South Australian Department of Health Medical Education and Training Council and was the inaugural Dean and Director of Education for the Royal Australasian College of Physicians 2006-2010.


Dr Richard Johns

Board Director

Dr Johns has worked in general practice for over 30 years as an owner/partner.  He has held a range of roles with Southern Division of General Practice, General Practice Network South and SAFKIML, largely in the continuing professional development field and other advisory roles.

He serves as an RACGP examiner and a member of the RACGP PESCI panel as well as chairing the Griffith Rehabilitation Hospital Medical Advisory.


Hon Karlene Maywald

Board Director

Mrs Maywald is the Managing Director of Maywald Consultants Pty Ltd. She is also a Foundation Member of the Flinders University New Venture Institute Advisory Council, the Australian International 3 Day Event an ambassador for the Live in the Now Foundation.

Mrs Maywald has had past experience as a Member of Parliament and Cabinet Minister and various advisory committee roles within both the public and private sectors.


Ms Rosey Batt

Board Director

Ms Batt is a lawyer with 30 years’ experience in commercial law. She is an experienced Board director across many sectors including health and education.

Ms Batt has a specific interest in corporate governance and Director’s duties and responsibilities. She is a Fellow of the Institute of Company Directors and a facilitator in the Company Director’s course both nationally and internationally.


Dr Rachel Swift

Board Director

Rachel is the Managing Director at Swift Outcomes a health care consulting firm. She has 16 years’ international experience in health care delivery, global health and biomedical research, including a decade with The Boston Consulting Group and roles as a strategic advisor in West Africa during the 2014 UN Ebola Emergency Response Mission and with the Clinton Health Access Initiative to launch a new program to combat maternal and childhood malnutrition in East Africa. She is an experienced director serving on Federal Government Health Care and NFP Boards.

Rachel has held teaching appointments at the Universities of Oxford, Southern California, Adelaide, and Magdalen College School. She is a published medical and global health researcher with a doctorate in Clinical Medicine from the University of Oxford where she was a Rhodes Scholar.

GPEx Board-ian-smith

Ian Smith

Board Director

Ian Smith is the Director, College Services in the College of Medicine and Public Health at Flinders University.

Ian has led business change in a wide range of public and private sector organisations.

Prior to his role at Flinders University, Ian established new ways of doing business in mining, media, defence, government, agriculture and the energy industries. Previous roles have included Group Manager, IT solution and Projects at Origin Energy Ltd and Chief Information Officer for AAB Grain, now known as Viterra.


Inge Parodi

Company Secretary

Inge is an experienced operations and change management expert with significant experience in managing cross functional teams .  Inge has held the company secretary role at ModMed Institute since 2017 and is currently completing her MBA at UniSA.


Stay connected -
Join our mailing list