Southport Beach steps and the Onkaparinga River estuary at Port Noarlunga South in Adelaide’s southern suburbs

About Adelaide Outer Metro

Outside of the CBD, Adelaide is divided into the western, eastern, southern, and northern suburbs. Each suburb has many public amenities, schools, shopping centres, and public transport options, with the whole region easy to navigate via car or public transport.

Adelaide’s western suburbs extend from the city to the beach. Waterside suburbs including Glenelg, Henley Beach, and Port Adelaide are very popular, and offer a relaxed, beachside lifestyle for residents.

The eastern suburbs extend from the CBD to the gentle, rolling foothills of the Mount Lofty Ranges, with the suburb characterised by tree-lined streets and heritage homes.

Adelaide’s southern suburbs are located from the city to the suburb of Sellicks Beach. The area is a mix of industry, commercial estates, beachside suburbs, and residential areas.

The northern suburbs are located from the CBD to the rural town of Gawler. The area is experiencing fast population growth, and is undergoing an economic transformation to support future job creation.

Fun Fact: The Port River is home to a large population of bottle nose dolphins.