Key dates

Selection Timeline
Applications open10am AEDT Monday 21 March
Applications close11:59pm AEST Tuesday 19 April
First intake eligibility finalisationTuesday 24 May
CAAKTTuesday 14 June – Thursday 16 June
Applicant preference change periodThursday 7 July - Tuesday 12 July
GPEx and applicants advised of interview allocationsThursday 14 July
GPEx schedule first intake interviews with applicantsFriday 15 July – Friday 22 July
First intake interviewsSaturday 23 July – Sunday 7 August
First intake offer management by GPExMonday 8 August – Thursday 18 August
First intake offers finalisedFriday 19 August

Application Process

Step 1: Apply online

If you wish to apply through the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners you can do so by applying via their website during the application period here.

Step 2: Pay application fee and participate in stage 1 assessment

Application fee: $725

Due date: Payable upon registration for CAAKT – Thursday 4 November

Stage 1 assessment

  • Candidate Assessment and Applied Knowledge Test (CAAKT)

Selection Timetable

  • Eligible candidates enrol and pay the application fee and book in CAAKT stage 1 assessment – 11:59pm AEST Tuesday 19 April
  • Candidate sits CAAKT assessment – Tuesday 14 June – Thursday 16 June

EXPRESS YOUR INTEREST

Step 3: Participate in stage 2 assessment with GPEx

Stage 2 assessment – Panel interview with GPEx

  • GPEx will notify candidates of the interview date and time Interview with GPEx representative
  • Second intake offers sent and acceptances due within 7 day

Selection Timetable

  • GPEx to notify candidates of interview date and time – Friday 15 July – Friday 22 July “N.B. Interstate based candidates will be invited to interview remotely.”
  • Interviews conducted with GPEx – Saturday 23 July – Sunday 7 August
  • GPEx to notify candidates of selection outcomes. Offers and acceptances due within 7 days of offer – Monday 8 August – Thursday 18 August

EXPRESS YOUR INTEREST

Do you have questions about the process?
Our Selection Team are here to help

Contact Us

Information sessions and webinars

GPEx hosted a range of information sessions and webinars in 2022. To ensure you have all the information you need, catch up here.