Key dates

Selection Timeline
Applications open10am AEST Monday 30 August
Applications close11:59pm AEST Tuesday 21 September
Applicant fee due to RACGP Wednesday 13 October
Preference change periodFriday 8 October – Tuesday 12 October
Final applicant preference change periodFriday 15 October to Tuesday 19 October
Applicants advised of interview allocationsMonday 25 October
GPEx interview are scheduled with applicantsMonday 25 October to Wednesday 27 October
GPEx interviewsMonday 1 November to Thursday 4 November
Training offers are madeMonday 8 November to Wednesday 17 November
Training offers finalisedWednesday 17 November

Application Process

Step 1: Apply online

If you wish to apply through the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners you can do so by applying via their website during the application period here.

Step 2: Pay application fee and participate in stage 1 assessment

Application fee: $725

Due date: Payable upon registration for CAAKT – Thursday 4 November

Stage 1 assessment

  • Candidate Assessment and Applied Knowledge Test (CAAKT)

Selection Timetable

  • Eligible candidates enrol and pay the application fee and book in CAAKT stage 1 assessment – Tuesday 21 September
  • Candidate sits CAAKT assessment – Wednesday 20 October – Thursday 21 October

EXPRESS YOUR INTEREST

Step 3: Participate in stage 2 assessment with GPEx

Stage 2 assessment – Panel interview with GPEx

  • GPEx will notify candidates of the interview date and time Interview with GPEx representative
  • Second intake offers sent and acceptances due within 7 day

Selection Timetable

  • GPEx to notify candidates of interview date and time – Friday 12 November – Friday 19 November “N.B. Interstate based candidates will be invited to interview remotely.”
  • Interviews conducted with GPEx – Saturday 20 November – Sunday 28 November
  • GPEx to notify candidates of selection outcomes. Offers and acceptances due within 7 days of offer – Monday 29 November – Thursday 9 December

EXPRESS YOUR INTEREST

Do you have questions about the process?
Our Selection Team are here to help

Contact Us

Information sessions and webinars

GPEx hosted a range of information sessions and webinars in 2022. To ensure you have all the information you need, catch up here.